DISSECTING A NEWS PACKAGE

Uncategorized

I will always shed a tear on Remembrance Day. 

Before……

I’d start my day by waking up in my fathers house. I would call for my grandfather (he lives there also) and if he was already downstairs, I’d head straight down. He would be there, sat in the kitchen with his cup of tea and his two steamy slices of marmalade on toast. “Good morning Dadcu.” I would say. ‘Dadcu’ stands for grandfather in Welsh, and I have called him that for as long as I can remember! I would know that next to his plate would be mine. A cup of tea and two malted milk biscuits. I miss those. I’d say my favourite part of the morning was spending time with him, but now I’m thinking about what he knew I really loved…his egg and soldiers. Wow.

Today……

I start my day waking up in my university house. I can’t call for my grandfather. I can’t speak to him until around midday. I go downstairs, make myself that famous cup of tea (I usually have coffee in the morning), and think about my grandfather. I’m pretty good at making egg and soldiers now, but mine will never compare to his.

BBC News, 11:00hrs, Wednesday 11/11/15

I turn on BBC. Before the clock strikes 11, I prepare myself for the minute silence..

“You join us as we prepare to observe a two minutes silence this armistice day. In memory of all those who fought and died for Britain in conflict, since the start of the First World War.”

The V/O works with the visual 

As Big Ben strikes 11, I am silent. Watching people stood in Westminster Abbey, Trafalgar Square, Brecon Beacons, Belfast, Glasgow, Northumberland College, The Cenotaph, sympathy fills me up to my eyeballs.

The presenter remains silent. This creating the emphasis on the lack of noise during the time in which we reflect on the “human cost of conflict”.

Devastating.

Big Ben is the main metonymic sign, representing London and the start of the heartfelt silence. This truly fits in to news package in terms of where the BBC are based, and where they show the silence to start. Trafalgar Square.

The V/O returns on the fourth minute after the start of the news package. We are in Liverpool.

“So images from Liverpool, as we end the two minute silence to mark armistice day. Veterans joining serving armed forces personnel at The Cenotaph in London and of course services being held at military bases, schools, town halls, and churches across the country. The Royal British Legion saying today that this two-minute silence is a rare moment for the nation to stand together, and reflect on the human cost of conflict.”

The V/O and visuals show very close proxemics here, as the introductory sentence of the V/O is expressed whilst a veteran stood in Liverpool graces the screen.

With this close yet perfect relation, the professional V/O not only remains on the level of describing what the visuals show, (“so images from Liverpool”), but it also adds a layer of explanation to the visuals-

“Services being held at military bases, schools, town halls, and churches across the country.”

I find this news package an accurately beautiful representation of the unity of a nation whilst they mark armistice day. The switching of locations truly connotes how much we stand together, to remember those who fought for us.

I am proud to say that my grandfather stood on the front line during WW2. I am even more proud that he is still here today at the age of 92. He shares his memories, as well as his medals with me.

Leave a Reply

