FACEBOOK AND PHILOSOPHY

Uncategorized

“The mass media symbolise the spectacle. “

I honestly struggle to believe how interesting I find the text I just read. I also feel like the theory of it is so relevant, especially to the 21st century. I’m going to just let my inner nerd speak and admit that I love learning new things everyday and when it is university related, it is even better, because it can work in my favour. In relation to the quote above, I actually smirked to myself when I read, “Compare the number of people currently walking around wearing football jerseys to the number of people actually playing football.” It just made me think about how many people who don’t go to the gym walk around wearing the gym trainers, which made me laugh. It also makes how Guy Debord says that in modern societies “everything that was directly lived has receded into a representation” (p. 1) even more accurate.

Another thing I find spellbinding is the idea that individuals are using “new media”, like Facebook to “replace actual activity, actual participation, and actual belonging.” Since Facebook solely relies on its users to interact with each other, as that is its basis of creation, it “could not exist without user interaction.” Which seems scary, when I think about how the social network is used worldwide and has become a part of everyday life, for the majority of individuals. This analysis also made me realise that without Facebook, and other forms of mass media, society would have no choice but to actually get out and interact with each other, as there would be no virtual activity that enables us the “experience of being with others” when we are actually alone, behind “our respective screens.”

As technology now plays a vital role in everyday life, I think it could be said that it is disrupting the everyday, since “All this activity is virtual. How much of a difference does that make?” A colossal difference maybe? If virtual activity and interaction is accessible almost anywhere, haven’t we given it the power to strip away face-to-face social interaction?

Reference:

Vejby, R., Wittkower, D. (2010). Spectacle 2.0. Facebook and Philosophy, edited by DE Wittkower. Chicago and La Salle: Open Court. pp97-108

Leave a Reply

