PARTICIPATION, REMEDIATION, BRICOLAGE

Uncategorized

“First is the realization that all aspects of everyday life in highly industrialized modern societies are to some extent influenced by, and implicated in, computerization.”

  • Internet improves interaction
  • Internet also discourages interaction

Why? We, as humans of the 21st century, are using technology as our way to communicate more than we have hot dinners. What does this mean? Well, it could mean that we are becoming less interested in interacting with others face to face, as we know how easy it can be to communicate through technology. Is there still a relationship/distinction between ‘producer’ and ‘consumer’? Well, we could say that they have the same status, and do the same thing. I could say that I am a producer. I upload images and videos on to social networking sites, specifically Instagram, and could produce music if I wanted to. These elements of technology are also things I consume. So could I call myself a ‘producer’ as well as a ‘consumer?’ I suppose I could. Furthermore, if I can produce the things I consume and vice versa, is the distinction between human and computer becoming more difficult to observe? I personally think so. Deuze says,

“humans and machines are implicated in one another”

I feel that this is becoming a more frequent thing. And if so, what does that mean for the ownership of content? Well, you could say that the worth of ownership is decreasing, couldn’t you? The battle for intellectual property gets stronger due to the reactions “new media” would provoke from digital establishments who could bluntly say, “we have it, you pay for it.” Apple could be used as an example, since they’d be in agreement with the banishment of illegal music websites, as they have iTunes and want everybody to fork out for the music. What Deuze argues:

  • We adopt, modify, manipulate and reform a consensual way of understanding reality
    • An example of manipulating the context

Ever wondered what The Shining would be like if it was a rom-com? Neither had I, until today. Watching the film trailer just made me feel scared an uneasy, I know, I’m an 18 year old who even gets scared at horror trailers. Forgive me. So when I seen this, I knew it was the version I’d much rather watch;

My reason for mentioning this is to show that the context of something can easily be manipulated. The transitions of this romantic version of ‘The Shining’ have even been altered, since it is choppy in the actual film trailer, in order to conform to the connotations of a horror movie. And all that was changed was the order, the audio to match a stereotypical rom-com, the transitions and a voice order was added. Deuze also says argues that we;

  • Meaning-make and become participants or active agents of digital culture, through making accounts

IMG_6084IMG_6082IMG_6083

The creation of my Twitter, Instagram and Facebook accounts show that creating accounts, uploading to them and tweets, images, and statuses going viral are important because they’re all part of digital culture. Social networking accounts also epitomise individualisation.

  • Reflexively assemble our own particular versions of such reality (we are bricoleurs)

IMG_6085

This page itself shows that I can assemble my own particular version of reality and be a bricoleur, since my WordPress is my own opportunity to produce my own outlook on such reality and have others read it and even participate in it, if they wanted. My reflection of this text has opened my curious eyes to the fact that we are living in an infinite “new media revolution”.

Reference:

Deuze, M. (2006). Participation, Remediation, Bricolage: Considering Principal Components of a Digital Culture. In: The Information Society, 22, London: Routledge. pp63-75

Leave a Reply

