MEMORIES ASSOCIATED WITH MY OWN PHOTOGRAPHS

Uncategorized

img_5755
This is a school photo from 2000. Random I know. I was 3 in this photograph so as you can imagine, my memory is rather faded when looking at it. I don’t remember the day, I don’t remember being dressed but all I can remember is that I was in school and that it was in the gymnasium in a Photo Booth and I was sat on a school. Now when I look at this photo, I think of it in a frame at my father’s house. I mention this because when I think about pictures after focusing intensely on photography, I am aware that as soon as they’re taken, they immediately become old. This photo is already 15 years old.

“Photographs, which fiddle with the scale of the world, themselves get reduced, blown up, cropped, retouched, doctored, tricked out. They age, plagued by the usual ills of paper objects; they disappear; they become valuable, and get bought and sold; they are reproduced.”

Sontag, S. (2010) Susan Sontag On Photography. Available from:  http://www.susansontag.com/SusanSontag/books/onPhotographyExerpt.shtml [Accessed 25 February 2015]

Leave a Reply

